Appendix XIII

UNOLS Council Nominations

UNOLS COUNCIL NOMINATIONS 1998

Nominating Committee

Dennis Hansell (Chair), Clare Reimers, Peter Lonsdale

Time Frame

- 1) February/March 1998 Nomination Committee formed
- 2) April/May 1998 Announcements published
- 3) July 1998 Draft Election Slate presented to Council
- 4) July/August 1998 Election Slate finalized
- 5) September 1998 Council Elections

Announcements Requesting Nominations

- 1) UNOLS Newsletter
- 2) Advertisement in EOS
- 3) Letters to the Institutional Representatives to UNOLS
- 4) Letters to Dean/Directors of UNOLS institutes.

UNOLS COUNCIL NOMINEES 1998

Name	Discipline	Institute
Austin, James	Geophysics	UT A ustin
Bauer, Jim	Biogeochemist	VIMS
Bryant, Bill	Geology	TAMU
Cowles, Tim	Biologist	OSU
Cutter, Greg	Chemist	-obc
Firing, Eric	Physics	UH
Fornari, Dan	MG&G/DeepSubmerg.	WHOI
Goss, John	Geophysics	CT Austin
Lee, Tom	Physics	RSMAS
Moran, Brad	Chemist	- UKI
Royer, Torn	Physics	ODU
Youngblouth, Marsh	Biologist	нвот

^{*}Strikeout indicates nominations not forwarded to the final election slate.

6/30/98

DRAFT NOMINATION SLATE (July 1, 1998) CHAIR

VICE CHAIR

Royer, Tom Physics ODU

COUNCIL

OPERATOR

Bryant, Bill Geology TAMU
Firing, Eric Physics UH
Youngblouth, Marsh Biology HBOI

NON-OPERATOR

Bauer, Jim Chemistry VIMS

AT-LARGE

Cowles, Tim Biology OSU
Fornari, Dan MG&G/ Deep Submerg WHOI
Lee, Tom Physics RSMAS

Candidate Profiles

Tom Royer, Physics, ODU, current Vice Chair, eligible for one more term.

Bill Bryant, Geology, TAMU Oceanography Department Head

Eric Firing, Physics, UH, Previously a member of FIC, currently on SWATH Design Committee at UH

Marsh Youngbluth, Biology/Submersibles, HBOI, Agency experience with NSF/NOAA

Jim Bauer, Chemistry, VIMS, nominated by Dean Don Wright

Tim Cowles, Biology, OSU, currently Assoc. Dean, nominated by Dean Brent Dalrymple

Dan Fornari, MG&G/DeepSubmerg, WHOI, Chief Scientist for Deep Submergence at WHOI

<u>Tom Lee</u>, Physics, RSMAS, active in RSMAS Ship Ops and joint RSMAS/HBOI committees; nominated by Dean Otis Brown.